The Maze Runner 1: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner 1: The Maze Runner by James DashnerBlurb

When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas can remember is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade, an encampment at the centre of a bizarre and terrible maze.

Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they came to be there, or what’s happened to the world outside. All they know is that every morning when the walls slide back, they will risk everything to find out.

My Perspective

Kel and I watched the movie, The Maze Runner, when it came out on DVD. When I learned that it was a book I was curious to read it. I also didn’t realise that it was a three book series, The Maze Runner, being the first. Kath from Minuscule Moments of Inspiration lent me the trilogy – thanks Kath!

The Maze Runner follows Thomas as he is hurtled upwards in a lift towards an unknown destination, having lost all of his memories. At the top he is let out into “The Glade”, a large field and forested area, where a group of teenage boys welcome him, all having experienced the same thing. The Glade is surrounded by a maze and so far no exit has been found. Soon Thomas learns about the dangers within the maze and the strict rules the boys live by to survive. Who created The Maze? And what do The Creators want from the boys? Thomas may be the newbie but he is determined to find out.

As I had seen the movie, I already knew the storyline however most book to movie adaptions have a lot left out and this certainly had it’s share.

The whole ‘all boys’ encampment, the need to survive and creating a mini civilisation reminded me a little of The Lord of The Flies (although I’ve never read the book I know the general gist of it). However there the resemblance ended. The Maze Runner is about far more than that and you really start to question the people who created the whole scenario and how awful humans can be.

I liked Thomas however I did find him a bit cocky. He does mature a lot through the book though due to the circumstances he is put through. I didn’t get the relationship with him and ‘the girl’. It felt like the author was trying to create a love interest that just seemed a bit lame. I felt that the book would have been better without it. I will reserve my judgement on it though because as a said, it’s a three book series and it might make better sense later.

The book is action packed however medium paced. You are as unaware as Thomas throughout, which makes it interesting as you only learn the back story as he does.

I did find some of the language a little tiresome (there’s no swearing, when I say language I mean the expressions and style the boys talk in). I just wanted to shake them and tell them to speak properly! I don’t know whether it makes it more realistic though having them create phrases and talk a certain way – I’m not a teenage boy and never have been so I have no idea.

Overall I did enjoy it however it was kind of depressing. And makes you wonder what the world is coming to. I would feel comfortable letting my teenagers read this and would recommend it to any age, males especially.

6 thoughts on “The Maze Runner 1: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. I’m laughing because a friend of mine started reading the book and I kept getting text messages complaining about the language. I never read it, but he was just going ‘what in the world does this word mean?’

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Maze Runner 2: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner | Reading For The Masses

  3. Pingback: The Maze Runner 3: The Death Cure by James Dashner | Reading For The Masses

Leave a Reply

