More Mischief by Kate Thompson

More Mischief by Kate ThompsonBlurb

Life is sweet for rising stage and TV soap star Deirdre O’Dare. But jealous fears, spawned by arch-rival Sophie, that roguish boyfriend Rory is having a Hollywood fling threaten to ruin her happiness.

Retreating from Dublin to the hauntingly beautiful West of Ireland to work on a screenplay and lick her wounds, she meets gorgeous Gabriel – straight out of the Diet Coke ad and squire of the local manor. How could a girl possibly refuse?

In this moving and wickedly funny tale by the bestselling author of It Means Mischief, Deirdre O’Dare learns some painful, enlightening and hilarious lessons about the art of life and love as she comes face to face with the most difficult decision she’s ever had to make. 

My Perspective

This is the fourth book i chose to read from my post Third Lot – And It’s A Lot

More Mischief is about Deirdre O’Dare, an actress who decides once and for all to end her on again off again relationship with fellow actor Rory McDonagh. Encouraged by her best friend to take some time away to clear her mind and to write the screenplay she’s been talking about, she ends up staying in her parents holiday cottage in the West of Ireland. There she meets Gabriel and he seems to be sent from Heaven above. However in her heart she knows she still loves Rory. Who will she choose?

The story was well written and captivating. There was some sexual content in it however it was always brief so it was on the line for me.

Deirdre was easy to like however I did find her to be a bit annoying sometimes. I felt like she couldn’t just be her own woman, that there had to be a man around. Even though I didn’t agree with Rory’s lifestyle at all, he was hard not to like. Gabriel was too perfect for my liking, he made me nervous. Throughout most of the book, even though I hated Rory’s outlook, I actually felt better about Deirdre being with him than Gabriel. However it wasn’t up to me was it?

The story was interesting and kept me turning the pages. I wouldn’t say it was predictable however I was kind of guessing where the end was headed and I was right.

Overall it was an enjoyable read and I would definitely recommend it for those who like lighthearted chick lit.

Leave a Reply

