Best of Friends by Cathy Kelly

Best of Friends by Cathy KellyBlurb

They’re friends for life…and life is for living.

In the beautiful town of Dunmore, four women understand what friendship really means. Abby’s TV career is taking off, but her marriage to Tom is rocky. Meanwhile, her teenage daughter Jess despairs of ever finding a boyfriend. Lizzie has time for everyone: her grown-up children, her friends, even her ex-husband Myles, but never for herself. And then there’s Erin, married and back in Ireland after eight years in Chicago. But can she face up to her past?

When tragedy strikes, it rocks the small town. Drawn together in their sadness, the four women realise that life is for living, and they need to grab it with both hands…

My Perspective

Best of Friends is about three different women: Lizzie, Abby and Erin and how through shared grief they come together to help each other through and change their lives for the better.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It was well written and had a few different story lines that were all intertwined so your interest was constant throughout.

The characters were enjoyable and realistic. I really enjoyed how they all grew throughout the book however I was disappointed and slightly frustrated that Lizzie was unable to stand up to her daughter and everyone else had to for her.

The book was a decent length however I don’t feel it dragged at all. I was sad when it ended because I wanted it to keep going!

There was some slight sexual content however it was on the line for me.

I would like to mention that I feel that the blurb misleads you slightly about the friendship between the women. They aren’t as close as the blurb seems to make out. Plus is the fourth woman the daughter? I was slightly confused.

I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it to those who like chick lit. It wasn’t exactly a lighthearted read however it wasn’t super depressing – it just had some themes where you might need a tissue box handy 🙂

Leave a Reply

