Terra by Gretchen Powell

Terra by Gretchen PowellBlurb

A broken and desolate Earth. A young girl simply trying to survive. A lost boy with a powerful secret.

A discovery that will change everything.

In the distant wake of a plague that has decimated the Earth’s population, humanity is split in two: The rich and powerful live in skycities that float overhead, while those who remain on the ground have gathered in settlements strewn across a dying planet. Eighteen-year-old Terra Rhodon is a terrestrial–a denizen of the barren groundworld–who makes her living as a scav. Long abandoned by her father, her caregivers gone, Terra supports herself and her younger brother, Mica, by scouring the earth for discarded scraps and metals to recycle for profit. One day, while on a routine scavenging run, she discovers something that shocks her home settlement of Genesis X-16. When the value of her discovery is revealed, Terra’s world is turned upside down.

Terra suddenly finds herself asking questions no one will answer. Her search for the truth leads her to Adam–a beguiling skydweller unlike any she has ever met. But Adam has secrets and a quest of his own. With him by her side, the world Terra thought she knew begins to unravel. Soon her discoveries unearth a terrifying conspiracy that has the potential to shatter everything–a revelation that will test the bonds of loyalty, family, and love.

My Perspective

This is the second book I read from my post Credit Where Credit’s Due. I read about Terra by Gretchen Powell from Cely at Running Off The Reese’s. Unfortunately you can’t read her thoughts on the book anymore as her blog was hacked and her posts deleted 😦

Terra is a dystopian novel. The Earth is dying and the population have been split between the rich Skydwellers and the poorer Terrestrials. Terra is a Terrestrial, an earth dweller, and her only means of survival is scavenging the wastelands outside the compound that she and her brother, Mica live in. However one day whilst scavenging she finds an item that changes the course of her future.

Terra was an enjoyable read. The beginning really sucked me into the story. It was interesting, kept me turning the pages and flowed well. However I did notice there was a subtle change in the book when Adam was introduced. It became slightly cheesy and even though I was still interested in finding out what happened, it lost the appeal it had before.

I really liked Terra’s character except I found she irked me when Adam was introduced. I liked Adam as a character though – again there was something that changed and I’m not sure it was for the better. Mica was your typical teenager however you couldn’t help having a soft spot for him.

I found some of the story a bit unbelievable. The romance in particular. The novel is aimed at young adults though so it would most likely appeal to them.

The book leaves you on a pretty large cliffhanger – I didn’t realise it was a series! I must admit that even though it was quite cheesy the cliffhanger definitely makes me want to read the sequel.

Overall I did enjoy the book and I would recommend it to those who like young adult dystopian fiction.

Leave a Reply

