I’d Go Halfway Around the World to Meet a Reader

It was such a privilege to meet both Andra and MTM. I thoroughly enjoyed the night and if you haven’t already read Andra’s book – what are you waiting for?!

The Accidental Cootchie Mama

What’s the best thing about writing to you, Dear Reader? Is it getting great comments on your blogs? Having people praise your prose? Achieving mind blowing stats or sales? Getting great reviews for your efforts, fiction or non?

For me, it’s meeting readers.

Because I work hard to maintain a reader community. Readers are a mirror, a reflection of who we are. They help me know myself, to better understand who I am.

In Australia, we drove from Melbourne to Bermagui to meet Laura Gillies. For geographical perspective, that’s like driving from Charleston to Nashville. Or Charleston to Philadelphia. Maybe even Charleston to Miami.

melbourne to bermagui

It was a long day in the car.

But I wanted to hug the Australian woman who connected with Meriwether Lewis. On a wet winter night, we met at an upstairs pub, and we wiled the night away over Australian wines and cheeses. Just like every person…

View original post 150 more words

One thought on “I’d Go Halfway Around the World to Meet a Reader

Leave a Reply

