Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 4) by Christopher Paolini

Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 4) by Christopher PaoliniBlurb

It began with Eragon . . . It ends with Inheritance.

Not so very long ago, Eragon – Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider – was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now, the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.

The Rider and his dragon have come farther than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost?

My Perspective

Inheritance is the last book in the Inheritance Cycle Series; Eragon being the first, Eldest being the second and Brisingr being the third.

The story starts straight on from where it left off in Brisingr. Eragon knows he is not strong enough to defeat Galbatorix however he has no idea what he can do that will aid him. Little does he know that both he and Saphira must discover more about themselves than they ever realised to find the key that will defeat the tyrant king.

As the story starts straight on from where it left off in the last book, you are placed right in the middle of the action. At first I found my head spinning slightly because of this but then it was alright.

This book was long. The other three were around the three hundred to four hundred page mark so I expected the last book in the series to be maybe five hundred. Try over seven hundred and fifty!!! That didn’t stop me from reading it in just over a day however I was seriously doubting that there was going to be the content to justify that many pages.

In my review of Brisingr, I said that I was going to reserve my judgement about whether I thought it was necessary for the last book to be split into two books until I had read the entire series. Having now read it, I think that it was wise to split the last book into two books however i feel that some of the content from Inheritance could have been put into Brisingr. Both the books could have been heavily edited with a lot of unnecessary text taken out, which would then reduce both books to around the three hundred to four hundred page mark.

Eragon has grown so much throughout the series. He’s learnt and matured and I love the person he has become. If I was his parent then I would be so proud of him. The other characters grew a little more in this book and I enjoyed getting to know Nasuada a bit more. Overall they are a really great bunch of well written characters.

The resolution of the story left me a little disillusioned. I was kind of like, huh? Is that it? Seriously? It just seemed too…easy. I was also VERY disappointed in the outcomes of some various other situations, which I don’t want to say too much about because I will spoil it. Lets just say that although there is resolution for the story and the characters, it doesn’t mean it’s all happy ever after. Sigh.

I really enjoyed the story however i found that each book became a little less tighter than the first.

Overall the book (and the whole series) was a very enjoyable read that I found hard to put down. I would definitely recommend it to fantasy lovers. I also look forward to other adventures about Alagaësia as it is a fascinating place and I also hope that the author decides to tie up some loose ends!

Leave a Reply

