Eldest (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 2) by Christopher Paolini

Eldest by Christopher PaoliniBlurb

Darkness falls . . . Despair abounds . . . Evil reigns . . .

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesméra, land of the elves, for further training in magic and swordsmanship, the vital skills of the Dragon Rider. It is the journey of a lifetime, filled with awe-inspiring new places and people, each day a fresh adventure. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and Eragon isn’t sure whom he can trust.

Meanwhile, his cousin Roran must fight a new battle back home in Carvahall – one that puts Eragon in even graver danger.

Will the king’s dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with even his life . . .

My Perspective

Well after our Internet came back on and I was able to borrow and download Eldest, I barely had time to read it, didn’t I? I managed to get at least a third of the way through before I had to return it. I was just going to reborrow it straight away however as luck would have it, someone had placed it on hold so I would have to wait until they returned it. I was quite annoyed and I mulled over buying the books. However I wanted the box set as actual books, not eBooks because of how much I like them so far. That posed another problem because acquiring the books would take time (remember I live in the country) whether eBooks are an instant download. Oh the dilemma! I even considered reading another Cairo Jim in between. I had almost made my decision when I thought I’d better just check that the person hadn’t returned Eldest yet to the library (even though it had only been a day). Well. Wouldn’t you know? It was available to borrow!

Eldest is the second book in the Inheritance Cycle Series. The battle of Farthen Dur has ended and Eragon must set out to Ellesmera, home of the elves, to complete his training. However the war against King Galbatorix looms ever closer. Will there be enough time for Eragon to learn all he needs to know to defeat the mighty King? Meanwhile, back in Carvahall, Roran is left to deal with the effects of Eragon’s departure.

Eldest follows almost immediately on from the first book, Eragon, and you’re lurched straight into the action. There is some recapping melded throughout to refresh your memory, however it’s pretty much straight on with the story. In once sense this was good because you can get right into it again, however there were some key moments that I felt were incredibly rushed (this is just at the beginning). Also the flow was a little off. It worked itself out after awhile and the rest of the book was well paced.

Eragon continued to steadily grow throughout the book and even though you wanted to smack him around at times, he had a good heart and I was rooting for him the entire time. I liked how the book wasn’t told entirely from Eragon’s point of view either, the author mixed it up a little and gave you a chance to better get to know both Roran and Nasuada. It was also clever doing it this way because you were entwined in three story lines at once and just when something happened it changed characters and you had to wait to know what happened!

There was plenty of action throughout however there were also just some great sections about Eragon’s tutelage. I enjoyed the way the author was able to describe more of Aglaesia through Eragon’s learning and i was also impressed with how much of a world the author has created. It was fascinating to learn about.

There were heaps of twists however I do admit that I was thinking up all the possible scenarios and outcomes and I did predict quite a few of them. However there were quite a few that I did not, or not the way I thought at all. The author also was good at leading you down two trails so you were unsure which one was true. In that sense it wasn’t as predictable.

It ended well although I felt rather abruptly – making me want to read the next book all the more.

Overall I really enjoyed reading the second installment of the Inheritance Cycle Series. It was full of adventure and fantasy, well written and kept you interested and turning the pages as fast as you could. I am very much looking forward to reading the third book, Brisingr. I would definitely recommend Eldest however I think it’s a good idea to read Eragon first.

2 thoughts on “Eldest (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 2) by Christopher Paolini

  1. Pingback: Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 3) by Christopher Paolini | Reading For The Masses

  2. Pingback: Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 4) by Christopher Paolini | Reading For The Masses

Leave a Reply

