Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 1) by Christopher Paolini

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 1) by Christopher PaoliniBlurb

One boy . . . One dragon . . . A world of adventure.

When Eragon finds a polished stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered and he is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic and power. With only an ancient sword and the advice of an old storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a king whose evil knows no bounds. Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands…

My Perspective

I’ve heard and read mixed reviews about the Inheritance Cycle Series. I’ve seen the movie Eragon and to be honest, I thought it was a bit lame. The premise of the story sounded interesting though so I thought I’d start with the first book, Eragon, and go from there. And I have to say there’s no turning back now.

The story is about a teenage boy, Eragon, who lives on a farm on the outskirts of a village with his uncle and cousin. One day when he is hunting, a precious gemstone appears before him. However his plans to sell it for food don’t go so well and before he knows it, his precious gemstone has cracked and a dragon has hatched from it. His life is turned upside down and he is soon swept far across the land into a battle he didn’t even know existed. The only problem is, which side should he choose?

I was drawn into the story from the get go and I had trouble putting it down the entire time. It was really well written and the descriptive texts were written beautifully – it really captured my imagination.

The characters were really well developed and you felt like you knew them intimately. They all captured a piece of your heart. Eragon was a realistic protagonist in that he had a good heart however was slightly immature and needed guidance. It was good to see his growth throughout the book. I did find it slightly annoying how he seemed to be knocked unconscious almost every time they ran into enemies and had to be rescued, however he is young and inexperienced so this may change in the next books.

The story had plenty of adventure, magic, and fantasy creatures. There were twists and turns and of course, the epic quest.

The book ended with enough resolution yet enough mystery to keep you guessing and wanting to read the next book.

Overall I thought it was a very interesting, well written fantasy adventure and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am very much looking forward to reading the next book in the series!

17 thoughts on “Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 1) by Christopher Paolini

      • Well…. I am a long time Fantasy Reader and I think I can pinpoint this book to where some of the fun was shattered about Fantasy.

        Essentially it is a clone of Star Wars: Episode IV. Farm boy wants to be hero, finds a mentor, mentor dies, has a big victory. It wasn’t very original, didn’t feel unique to me and I thought the character’s were kind of plain.

        Did you ever read my Fantasy rant from awhile back?

        Like

      • Fair enough. Your opinion is similar to what a lot of other reviewers were saying who did not like it. However if you take away the basic storyline (what you said), a lot of the other elements are different, which make it not completely the same as Star Wars.

        Honestly for me? No one is truly original anymore unless you go back to the original modern fantasy authors like George MacDonald – mid 1800’s (so not way back to like Homer etc. where they say fantasy probably stemmed from) so really everyone is just influenced by everyone. I feel that if i weren’t to like any book that wasn’t original then I’d be hard pressed to find a modern book to read! However if you did not enjoy it, then you don’t have to 🙂 No one is forcing you.

        And I’m not sure if i read your fantasy rant…

        Like

      • You misunderstand me. I do not think things have to be original, but they do have to put effort into feeling fresh. For example, Harry Potter also has that very same basic plot structure but feels fresh and is an excellent book. When I read Eragon it felt like a kid saying hey I’m going to write a fantasy book, but really didn’t put that much effort into it and it shows (imo).

        Like

      • Hehehe, no worries. I guessed when I saw my stats shot up from Australia and then I went and looked and couldn’t find it any more, which made me sad. I think I went too hard on my blog Spring cleaning, lol.

        Like

      • I’ll have to be more devious when I’m trying to find something…lol.

        Blog spring clean, huh?

        Well i read your rant 🙂 Thanks for the link. Sorry about misunderstanding you, i get what you were trying to say now from reading the rant – your point of view makes a lot more sense.

        Like

  1. Pingback: Cairo Jim On The Trail To Cha Cha Muchos by Geoffrey McSkimming | Reading For The Masses

  2. Pingback: Eldest (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 2) by Christopher Paolini | Reading For The Masses

  3. Pingback: Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 3) by Christopher Paolini | Reading For The Masses

  4. Pingback: Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle Series: Book 4) by Christopher Paolini | Reading For The Masses

Leave a Reply

