Everville: The First Pillar by Roy Huff

Everville: The First Pillar by Roy HuffBlurb

Owen Sage is the emblematic college freshman at Easton Falls University. He studies hard, plays hard, and is incredibly charming. With all the worries about his first year in college, he was not prepared for what would happen next. His way of life was flipped upside down when he was drawn into a different world, a world unbeknownst to him. He mysteriously crossed into another dimension, into the beautiful land of Everville. His tragic excitement was abruptly halted when he discovered that there was a darkness forged against both the natural world, which he knew well, and the new land which he discovered, Everville. He must devise a plan to save both worlds while joining forces with the race of Fron and The Keepers, whom both harbor hidden secrets he must learn in order to gain power over the evil that dwells in The Other In Between.

With a race against time to save both worlds, his short time at Easton Falls did not quite prepare him for the evil, dark forces he must fight in order to conquer The Other In Between.

My Perspective

I downloaded this eBook for free on Amazon awhile back. It is the first book in the Everville series.

The story is about a freshman college student, Owen, who is transported to another realm. There he discovers that there is more to the universe than meets the eye and that an evil force wishes to destroy not only his home, Earth, but also every other realm in between. Owen must discover why he has been chosen to have this knowledge and what his purpose in the imminent battle is.

I am in two minds about this book. I am going to go ahead and assume that the age group this is aimed at is for the younger end of the spectrum of the young adult genre. I say this because i found it quite simplistic, not in a bad way necessarily, just in a way that young teenagers would find it easy to follow and understand, whether someone a bit older might find it, well, overly simple. It is unlike some young adult fiction that can appeal to a wide range of ages.

The action started almost straight away, which drew me in. The pace then steadied a bit before slowly building until about the last quarter where it became quite fast paced.

I struggled to connect with the main character, not because I didn’t like him or because I couldn’t relate to him but because I felt that even at the end of the book i didn’t really know him any better. I think there could have been a lot more character development.

The text was quite descriptive, which I found to be really good in some parts and a little tedious in others.

To be honest I did have some issues with the book. I found it extremely unrealistic that the main character was drawn into another reality and didn’t seem to question anything or have any kind of emotion about what was happening to him apart from a vague kind of curiosity. Also I found a few things to be a bit unimaginative. For example, a lot of the names e.g “Them” (the evil side). And the Learner box. That was a bit of a cop out.

Overall it wasn’t a terrible read, though I definitely preferred the second half to the first half. I would probably recommend it to younger teenagers. As I mentioned this book is the first in the Everville series, I’m not sure whether I will continue the series or not – we shall see.

3 thoughts on “Everville: The First Pillar by Roy Huff

  1. Oh gosh, I think I was a little more harsh in my review. I just felt the book was sooo passive when I read it. So agree about characters just accepting things it was super weird. In my opinion that book was not for me, lol.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Legends of Windemere: Beginning Of A Hero by Charles E. Yallowitz | Reading For The Masses

Leave a Reply

