Saved by Cake by Marian Keyes

Saved by Cake by Marian KeyesBlurb

From a breathtaking lime cheesecake to white chocolate and caramel cupcakes that will have you coming back for more, Marian Keyes delights with over 80 treat-filled, comforting, absolutely no-holds-barred delicious recipes. Whether baking for yourself or for others you can’t help but feel happy in Marian’s company.

‘Medically speaking, there is no such thing a a nervous breakdown. Which is very annoying to discover when you’re right in the middle of one. Whatever was going on with me I had to wait it out. I had to find ways of passing the time until I was restored to myself again. So I baked a cake – a chocolate cheesecake, as it happens. And I enjoyed making it so much that I baked another. And another. The thing is that I was absolutely clueless, I was a total beginner and I had to learn everything. I’ve taught myself to bake by doing it over and over again; I’ve learnt the basis and all kinds of handy little helpful tips and am delighted to share them with you. But don’t be alarmed, no one is going to make you do nozzle work.’

My Perspective

Marian Keyes is one of my favourite authors. In 2009, my boyfriend (my now husband) bought me her new release for Christmas, The Brightest Star In The Sky. I really enjoyed it and i eagerly awaited her next novel.

A bit over a year or so ago, i suddenly realised that it was probably time for a novel to be due. Or that i had somehow missed out on her latest release. I researched on the Internet and found that the last novel that had been published was the last one i had read. I came upon her website and started reading her newsletters. She had been suffering from ‘a major depressive episode’ and could not bring herself to write. My heart went out to her. I wondered if she would ever be able to write again.

Early last year, she joined Twitter. I started following her and in a way got to know her. I discovered she had published a recipe book, Saved By Cake. I really wanted it.

Around August last year, i was trawling Myer to find something to buy because i had been given a $100 voucher for my 21st (two years previous) and it was about to expire. I had my heart set on a picnic basket with all the trimmings however it seemed that i had missed that boat and they were no longer in fashion. There are many things i could have bought, however i couldn’t justify spending $100 on a dress i might never wear, i don’t like any of their cookware (i believe it’s overpriced crap for people who like to call themselves foodies but most people don’t actually have a clue what they are talking about), the DVDs were SO expensive, the list goes on. The ONE thing i did not think of was – books. I was walking around, trying to think of something when i saw a sign that said “30% off all books – TODAY ONLY”. How had i not thought of books before??? I LOVE BOOKS!!! I was so excited that i had a) not only found something i really wanted but b) 30% off any book i wanted! (If i had thought of books before, i probably wouldn’t have got them in a 30% off sale, i believe God was making my birthday present even better 🙂 )

Anyway the first book i started to look for (of course) was Saved by Cake. And i found it! YES! It was finally mine. I bought many other books of course, which i will leave to another blog post.

During Marian’s darkest days, she tried many things to help her feel better however she found that the thing that made her forget about her current situation, if only while she was doing it, was baking. So she decided to put this recipe book together.

Saved by Cake is an amazing recipe book. There are traditional recipes in there but there are also a lot of very interesting ones (that sound so yummy!) e.g. Wasabi and White Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Icing; Upside Down Saffron, Mint and Pomegranate Cheesecake; Balsamic, Black Pepper and Chocolate Cake – the list goes on. I haven’t had a chance to make any of them yet – i am waiting until we are on holidays so i can enjoy baking these amazing sounding creations. I want to spend time enjoying the process (holidays in a week!).

Obviously as i haven’t actually tried out any of the recipes, i can’t tell you if they are any good – however have a look for yourself. It’s definitely more interesting than your average baking book and i love it even just for it’s stories and pictures.

3 thoughts on “Saved by Cake by Marian Keyes

  1. Pingback: The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes « Reading For The Masses

  2. Pingback: Armageddon’s Children by Terry Brooks | Reading For The Masses

  3. Pingback: Recipe Recommendation: August | The Chef and the Waitress

Leave a Reply

