The First Wives Club by Olivia Goldsmith

Blurb

Don’t get mad. Get everything.

When their best friend commits suicide over her divorce, Elise, Brenda and Annie decide enough is enough. Each was crucial to her husband’s career. But now that the men are successful, they’ve traded in their wives for newer, blonder models.

Over lunch one day they form the First Wives Club. But this is no support group. This is the SAS in Chanel. Painstakingly, inexorably, they plan the downfall of the men who’ve wrecked their lives – and know that revenge has never tasted sweeter…

My Perspective

As i mentioned in My Favourite Movie, i was a little nervous to read the book that my favourite movie is based on. I didn’t want to automatically dismiss the book just because it might be different to the movie i was used to. I wanted to be able to enjoy the story for what it was and try and push away my preconceptions.

I have to admit that it was a little hard to do that because of how many times i have watched the movie (I almost know the script off by heart). To be honest i didn’t enjoy the beginning of the book because it was so very different to the movie. I was surprised at how different it was that i became wary that my favourite movie was based on a book that i might (faint) not actually like. However after i got into the story, i was able to push away the movie i knew so well and just enjoy the story for what it is.

In my review, i do have to compare the book and the movie. I know that isn’t my intent for my blog however because the movie is so ingrained in my brain, i have to do a comparison so i then can in fact, can just review the book for what it is.

I found the book a lot less lighthearted than the movie, which surprised me. The book wasn’t terribly depressing but it didn’t have that lighthearted note to it. My heart didn’t sing like it does after I’ve watched the movie. Also they REALLY changed a lot of things for the movie. I didn’t like the differences at first, however once i got over myself, i actually found it very interesting how it all tied together in the end. I’m not sure why they changed so much for the movie, maybe it was a bit too complicated, however i can’t say I’m not glad that they did 🙂 I don’t think it would be my favourite movie if it was true to the book.

Now before i say anything more, there was some sex in the book. I didn’t enjoy reading those bits, however they weren’t as graphic as some books are (like The Ways of Women by Elaine Crowley, which i stopped reading). I think though that i read to this end because of my tie with the movie, i may have dismissed it due to the sex scenes otherwise. I just hope that all the other books my husband bought me by the same author don’t have any sex in them (or at least very little).

The story is about three women who have been left by their husbands for younger women after helping them to their success. It is their story of heartache, a little revenge, justice, true friendship and triumph.

The book was well written and interesting – there were some great twists. I think it takes a bit to get into it because you don’t fall in love with the characters straight away, it takes time. Once you know them though, you are with them until the end.

If you’ve seen the movie, it’s well worth reading – just keep in mind that its quite different. If you haven’t seen the movie, then what’s wrong with you?! To be honest though i wouldn’t know whether to read the book or watch the movie first – you choose!

I would probably read it again and i would recommend it to most people. I don’t know what category you would put it in, it isn’t really a romance, or a drama. Just a pretty good story.

5 thoughts on “The First Wives Club by Olivia Goldsmith

  1. Pingback: Fashionably Late by Olivia Goldsmith « Reading For The Masses

  2. Pingback: Young Wives by Olivia Goldsmith | Reading For The Masses

  3. Pingback: Bad Boy by Olivia Goldsmith | Reading For The Masses

Leave a Reply

