My Favourite Movie

My favourite movie in the whole wide world (and i have no idea why it’s my absolute favourite) is ‘The First Wives Club’ starring Goldie Hawn, Bette Midler and Diane Keaton. I watched it on TV one Saturday night when i was a teenager and i laughed so hard and enjoyed it so much. The story is great, however i think that the three women in the starring roles is what makes it even greater. When i got the DVD as a present one year, i would watch it almost every weekend. I still watch it regularly now (not every weekend) and enjoy it immensely.

For my birthday about a month ago, my husband bought me the book, The First Wives Club by Olivia Goldsmith, as i had never read it. He got a deal where he could buy three more books by the same author for a good price so even though he had no clue whether i would like the author or not, it was worth getting the extra three.
I am quite excited to read the book that my favourite movie is based on, however i am also a little nervous about it because i know how much books and movies can differ. I understand the need to change things when writing the screenplay for a movie when it is based a book because not all things that work in a book, work on screen and vice versa. I just want to make sure that i read the book for what it is, and not continually compare it to the movie.

I am also hoping that i have found another author to enjoy! We shall see.

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Movie

  1. Pingback: The First Wives Club by Olivia Goldsmith « Reading For The Masses

  2. Pingback: Young Wives by Olivia Goldsmith | Reading For The Masses

  3. Pingback: Fashionably Late by Olivia Goldsmith | Reading For The Masses

  4. Pingback: Bad Boy by Olivia Goldsmith | Reading For The Masses

Leave a Reply

