At Home With The Templetons By Monica McInerney

Blurb

When the Templeton family from England takes up residence in a stately home in country Australia, they set the locals talking – and with good reason. From the outside, the seven Templetons seem so bohemian, unusual… peculiar even.

No one is more intrigued by the family than their neighbours, single mother Nina Donovan and her young son Tom. Before long, the two families’ lives become entwined in unexpected ways, to the delight of Gracie, the sweetest of the Templeton children.

In the years that follow, the relationships between the Templetons and the two Donovans twist and turn in unpredictable and life-changing directions, until a tragedy tears them all apart. What will it take to bring them together again?

From Australia’s top-selling female novelist comes her best book yet – a wonderfully entertaining and touching story about the perils and pleasures of love, friendship and family.

My Perspective

It actually took me awhile to really get into this book. I still read it just as fast as any other book but to be honest it just wasn’t grabbing me. And then about half way through i realised that i found it quite depressing. Not so much the storyline, just the general feel of the book and the characters. I remember putting the book down for the night and turning to my husband saying ‘I feel quite depressed from reading this book. I can’t put my finger on what it is exactly, just the mood of the book or something’.

I think another reason why i found this book harder to get into was because i didn’t feel any attachment to any of the characters so frankly i didn’t care what happened to them. I’m not sure why, maybe it was because i found most of them quite selfish and shallow. This however, did change. At the twist. I started really caring about some of the characters then.

The twist happened just at the right moment when i was wondering what could tie everything together to end the book. OH MY GOSH. I wanted to stab that woman. Rip her eyeballs out for the rest of her life. I can’t believe she did that! Who does that? I won’t give away who because i HATE spoilers (every time something happens now you’re going to think it was that but believe me you will know what i am talking about when you read it). Far out. I was SO MAD. I wanted to rip the book in half. I don’t think i have ever hated a character more! Not even an evil, evil villain.

I enjoyed the ending although it was more a relief that it was over (not because it was terrible but because my nerves were worse than Mrs Bennet’s from Pride and Prejudice by the end). I even had to go for an hour walk with my iPod to release all the emotion when I’d finished reading it.

I’m not sure what genre to put this book in. I thought at first it was a family saga but I’m not so sure because it only follows the same generation. I guess though it is a family and boy is it a dramatic saga!

I’m not sure how Monica was feeling when she wrote this book but i don’t think I’ve ever been on such an emotional roller coaster from a book before. So if that is what you like to read, then this book is definitely for you! I don’t think i would read it again though.

Leave a Reply

